Signup for Email Updates

Inaugural Ceremony

As far back as 1851, Virginia Governors have been elected by popular vote and have participated in Inaugural Ceremonies. This year, the ceremonial oath and swearing in of Terry McAuliffe as Virginia’s governor will take place at Capitol Square on January 11th, 2014 at 12pm. Request tickets to the Inaugural Ceremony here. For individuals unable to attend the ceremony or parade the inauguration will be live streamed here. Find answers to frequently asked questions here. The inaugural ceremonies will be live streamed here for those unable to attend.

Inaugural Ceremony Participants

Introductory Music

29th Infantry Division Band, Virginia National Guard

Musical Selection

Virginia State University Gospel Chorale

Petersburg, Virginia

Professor James Holden, Jr., Director/Faculty Advisor

Mr. Perry A. Evans II., Director/Choreographer


Reverend Beverly Ashburn

Pastor, Friendship Baptist Church

Newport News, Virginia

Pledge of Allegiance

Mr. John S. McAuliffe MIDN USN

with    Logan M. Burchett MIDN USN,

Keaton G Dille MIDN USN,

George R. Jamison MIDN USN,

Colin A. Jester MIDN USN

National Anthem

Ms. Sophia Nadder

Midlothian, Virginia 

Musical Selection

World Children’s Choir

Falls Church, Virginia

Ms. Sondra Harnes, Artistic Director


Rabbi Jack Moline

Agudas Achim Congregation, Alexandria, VA